April: Catch Up

Currently Reading—

  • My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier 
  • Gravity by R.M. Drake
  • The House With Two Faces* by Sheila Bishop

This is not necessarily a new series of posts I plan to publish each month, but I have concluded that I am way behind. I should at least let any of you who are wondering know, right? 

Just to make it clear, I am not behind on reading so much, but I’m behind on writing my reviews. There’s a novel I read in November of last year that I have still not begun in my drafts. 

So, I have decided to cut my currently reading pile down by two books: The Little Red Chairs by Edna O’Brien and The Hidden Life of Trees by Peter Wohlleben. Not because I was not enjoying them, but because I had two longer novels, My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier and Gravity by R.M. Drake prioritized from a while back. I would never catch up while reading an average of 800 pages between the four, not with a full time job to show up to as well.

I have also recently purchased at least 40 gothic romance paperbacks (which I will be calling my “pulp gothic” collection) from between the 1970s and 1990s in my endevour to read more of my favorite genre. That brings me to owning close to 60 or so gothic books alone in my small library, which I desperately want to read soon.
So over the next couple of weeks you may be seeing reviews that are much shorter than my usual. I may even try using a streamlined format so I can touch on everything my typical review would touch on but in less words. 

Another rather important update is that I have deleted my Goodreads account so I would stop having it as even more distraction alongside YouTube. The bright side is that I may be doing currently reading and wrap up posts in my own timing—or I may just decide these catch up posts may be good enough to do the trick. 

Let me know any of your thoughts in the comments. Asterisks* titles are those in my “pulp gothic” collection. 

Leave a Reply

